Sunday Stitch-in: Barn Raising

Welcome back! I just threw on some yoga pants and a baggy shirt and crawled under the covers. If someone will bring some chocolate to share, I think we can get started!

Instead of watching PBS, I’m listening to my interview on the Fiber Talk podcast. I don’t sound too goofy, so I’m gonna call it a win!

Here’s a link if you want to listen in:

http://wetalkfiber.com/

I got a lot done on the barn, in part because I spent Wednesday at Hanging By a Thread in Shreveport, LA with a one-day angel trunk show. I make it over to Stacy’s a couple of times a year. An eclectic group of stitchers gather around the center table and someone new is always coming through the door. It’s a fun time each time I go, plus Stacy always feeds me, which is the best part of any road trip!

IMG_20170927_142324342.jpg

I used the time to re-stitch the roof, this time centering the pattern. My thread for the window trim from the Needle Works/Austin came in but I didn’t like the weight of it either, so I’m back to the original one (Grandeur Silk Pearl #5 by Rainbow Gallery, color #G840). None of my threads I’ve tried lent themselves to a nice cross stitch for the window outlines, so I ended up doing the outlining in Continental, while putting a large crossed stitch across each block to simulate the classic white X’s on barn windows and doors.

For the 2-thread side boards, I used a new-to-me stitch out of Jo Christensen’s The Needlepoint Book called Slanted Cross (page 254). I really liked it. It may become one of my go-to stitches for 2-thread borders and outlines.

IMG_20171001_144301616~2.jpg

While I have met Jo a couple of times, I got to know her better at the Dallas trade show. She was gracious enough to teach a technique class at the show. Jo and her very nice husband have recently moved to Texas, so once again, I am proven right that everything is bigger and better in the Lone Star State. Yehaw!

I almost have the roof done, but I wanted to show you my before and after paint out:

IMG_20170928_221852877~2

Above shows a star that is in the way of making my roof asymmetrical to the left side. Plus, the star shows through when I stitch over it. I dabbed a little blue-violet paint over it, and, Voila!, problem gone. You could also use a blue Sharpie. Don’t be afraid to “perfect” your canvas with paint or a Sharpie to suit your stitching plan.

 

IMG_20170928_222120654~2

I finished the barn trim with a horizontal row of Continental. The Bugle beads i ordered are too long, so I’m going to order some im 1.5mm, which should do the trick.

IMG_20171001_162124501.jpg

You can catch a glimpse on the top right corner of how the roof stitch will play out, but I am going to finish it during the week so that we can move on to the flag.

In last week’s comments, Joan Lohr suggested that I fill in the flag with white and then chain stitch the red stripes. It should keep the waves “flowy”, so let’s give it a try.

Per Joan’s advice, I am Basketweaving the entire flag. I am using two colors of Silk Lame’ Braid by Rainbow Gallery #SL100 & #SL101.

IMG_20171001_190816796.jpg

Looks like I’ve got my homework for the week: finish basketweaving the flag and finish the roof.

See you next Sunday when we raise the flag!

About debbieppd

Painted Pony Designs is a handpainted needlepoint company that was created in 1989. We are known for our stitch-painted ornament designs, including our "Little Charmer" angels featuring over 350 angel designs with attached brass charms. We also distribute for these hand-painted lines: Petei, Needle Graphics, Betsy B. Originals and sorority/frat canvases via Funda Scully. We also distribute licensed designs for Mary Engelbreit, Inc., Diane Ulmer Pedersen, Diane Kater, Lynne Andrews, Mary Charles, Two Bananas Art and Sally Swannell. To learn more about how we got started and the actual horse involved in the story, as well as to view our many needlepoint designs, please visit our web-site at paintedponyneedlepoint.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sunday Stitch-in: Barn Raising

  1. chillyhollowneedlepointadventure says:

    Maybe the too long bugle beads would make great door handles? Just saying….

  2. debbieppd says:

    On another project! These were two threads too long. If I had waited til the beads were in hand, I could have adjusted the stitching and then no prob! However, never one to think ahead….

Leave a Reply

